Perineale Physiotherapy

EMERGENCY APPOINTMENT

LASALLE CLINIC

ONLINE APPOINTMENT

IN LASALLE OR CHARLEMAGNE

EMERGENCY APPOINTMENT

CHARLEMAGNE CLINIC

OUR EXPERTISE IN PERINEAL PHYSIOTHERAPY

Our experienced physiotherapists in perineal and pelvic can help you relieve your pain.

WHAT IS PERINEAL PHYSIOTHERAPY ?

Perineal and pelvic rehabilitation is a branch ofa physiotherapy that treats pelvic floor dysfunctions such as incontinence, prolapse, certain problems related to sexuality and pelvic pain. Through an internal assessment combined with a traditional physiotherapy assessment, we address, among other things, the problems of strength and weakness of the pelvic floor muscles as well as the abdominal muscles.

OUR EXPERTISE IN PERINEAL PHYSIOTHERAPY

  1. WHEN SHOULD I CONSULT A PERINEAL PHYSIOTHERAPIST?

You can consult one during pregnancy, after childbirth, or as soon as you notice a perineal and pelvic problem (urinary leakage, gas or stool leaks, pain, diastasis, discomfort during sexual activities, etc.)

Issues related to pregnancy and childbirth

During childbirth, the pelvic muscles become distended to the maximum of their capacity. As a result they sometimes don’t naturally recover their former muscle tone. Perineal rehabilitation intervenes to help the relaxed muscles to firm, and thus allows you to regain control of your pelvic floor.

Pelvic and genital pain

Vulvodynia and vestibulodynia refer to chronic discomfort in the vulva and/or vagina during touch or pressure, such as sexual penetration or inserting a tampon. These nerve-related disorders are not associated with a skin disease. They can be caused by a variety of factors, such as, but not limited to: poor lubrication, emotional stress, pelvic floor tension, or childhood trauma (such as abuse or neglect).

Perineal physiotherapy can help relieve pain related to vulvodynia and vestibulodynia. A rigorous evaluation allows the patient to discover if her condition requires relaxation of the pelvic muscles and tissues, or if she needs to strengthen relaxed muscles instead. Each person is different, which is why it’s important to take the time to establish a plan tailored to your needs.

Problems related to the rectum and anus

When the rectum protrudes beyond the anus, or when it begins to obstruct the vagina, it is called rectal prolapse. Targeted exercises, manual therapy, and reconditioning your body’s internal processes can help stabilize and improve your condition.

Given the natural fragility of the perineum, this dysfunction occurs more often than we think. However solutions exist to treat incontinence caused by a weakening of the pelvic floor. Come and meet us for a complete assessment of your condition, and, together we’ll find the most suitable solution for you.

Prolapse of the pelvic organs

More common in women, this problem can also appear in men. When the organs of the pelvic cavity are below their original position, it is called prolapse or descent of the pelvic organs. Patients may be asymptomatic, or may experience incontinence or difficulty passing urine and stools. This phenomenon is seen in people with a history of constipation or childbirth, and it can also be caused by weakening of the pelvic or abdominal muscles. Physiotherapy does not treat a prolapse, but it can reduce symptoms and prevent the problem from getting worse. It is best to act as soon as possible.

Evaluation

We start with the assessment of posture, back and hip movements, and then we evaluate the deep abdominals and breathing. Afterwards, we carry out an internal exam if the patient gives their consent. We start by assessing the external perineum, followed by the internal evaluation, either inside the vagina or rectum, as appropriate.

2. WHO IS PERINEAL PHYSIOTHERAPY FOR ?

3. WHAT EXERCICES ARE THERE FOR PERINEAL REHABILITATION ?

Generally, weight-bearing exercises, or impact sports such as running, contribute to the strengthening of the pelvic floor muscles. However, they are not recommended for everyone; It all depends on the person’s physical condition.

Pelvic floor strengthening exercises and tips

Pelvic floor strengthening and/or releasing exercises associated with breathing are usually suggested. Subsequently, you can integrate these exercises into physical training or everyday movements.

Muscle contraction to improve perineal rehabilitation

To contract the pelvic floor muscles, imagine trying to bring the tailbone closer to the pubis and pull towards the navel, without squeezing the buttocks.

A yoga pose to strengthen the perineum

Inspired by tantric yoga, Mula Bandha consists of harmonizing one’s breathing with contractions of the pelvic floor muscles. Focused on concentration and meditation, this posture promotes self-confidence, stability, clarity and awakens awareness. It supports our action and helps us face our fears. Used together with perineal rehabilitation therapy, this pose can be very beneficial.

4. HOW DOES A PERINEAL REHABILITATION SESSION WORK?

  1. Before the appointment, you’ll have a health questionnaire to fill out as well as a questionnaire oriented towards the different conditions treated in perineal and pelvic rehabilitation.
  2. At the assessment, we first discuss the reasons for your consultation and your overall health. We then proceed to a physical assessment of your condition (level of mobility, strength, etc.).
  3. Then, with your consent, we proceed with the internal pelvic floor assessment. These assessments will allow us to assess your overall health and that of the pelvic floor, to make an appropriate treatment plan for you.
  4. In addition, we’ll advise you on how to maintain the results in the long term. It’s important that you understand everything that is being done, and that you are comfortable throughout the treatment and exercises.
  5. Finally, an exercise program adapted to your situation and your life circumstances will be given to you.
  6. A receipt in physiotherapy will be given to you for insurance or taxes.

We take care of you.

We take care of you.

5. PESSARY FITTING AND MONITORING

The pessary is a surgical silicone prosthesis that is inserted inside the vagina to support one or more pelvic organ that has lost its natural ligament support. The pessary can therefore be used to support the bladder, the urethra, the rectum or the uterus. There are several types and shapes which all have different uses and functions.
The treatment of a prolapsed organ begins with pelvic physiotherapy with exercises adapted to your body and symptoms. The pessary is a tool that is generally used alongside pelvic rehabilitation treatments.
Installing a pessary requires several prerequisites:
  • Pelvic physiotherapy assessment to ensure that you are a candidate
  • Pessary fitting session to find the one that suits you
  • A medical appointment with gynecological examination to ensure that you have no contraindications and to obtain a prescription for the pessary.
  • After we order your pessary we need a follow up to tech you how to install, remove and clean it properly.
  • Medical follow-ups to ensure that your body tolerates the pessary
  • Individualized follow-up with your pelvic physiotherapist as needed and according to your condition

EMERGENCY APPOINTMENT

LASALLE CLINIC

ONLINE APPOINTMENT

IN LASALLE OR CHARLEMAGNE

EMERGENCY APPOINTMENT

CHARLEMAGNE CLINIC

Nous contacter

Physiothérapie Périnéale

RENDEZ-VOUS D'URGENCE

CLINIQUE DE LASALLE

RENDEZ-VOUS EN LIGNE

À LASALLE OU CHARLEMAGNE

RENDEZ-VOUS D'URGENCE

CLINIQUE DE CHARLEMAGNE

NOTRE EXPERTISE EN PHYSIOTHÉRAPIE PÉRINÉALE

Nos physiothérapeutes expérimentées en rééducation périnéale et pelvienne peuvent vous aider à soulager vos maux.

QU’EST-CE QUE LA PHYSIOTHÉRAPIE PÉRINÉALE ?

La rééducation périnéale et pelvienne est une branche de la physiothérapie qui traite les dysfonctions du plancher pelvien comme l’incontinence, la descente d’organe, certaines problématiques reliées à la sexualité et les douleurs dans la région du bassin. Au moyen d’une évaluation interne combinée à l’évaluation traditionnelle en physiothérapie, on adresse, entre autres, les problématiques de force et de tension des muscles du plancher pelvien ainsi que des muscles abdominaux.

NOTRE EXPERTISE EN PHYSIOTHÉRAPIE PÉRINÉALE

  1. QUAND CONSULTER POUR LA PHYSIOTHÉRAPIE PÉRINÉALE?

On peut consulter durant la grossesse, après l’accouchement, ou dès qu’on remarque une problématique périnéale et pelvienne (fuites urinaires, fuites de gaz ou de selles, douleur, diastase, inconfort lors des activités sexuelles, etc.)

Problématiques en lien avec la grossesse et l’accouchement

Lors de l’accouchement, les muscles pelviens sont distendus au maximum de leur capacité, de sorte que parfois, ils ne recouvrent pas naturellement leur tonus antérieur. La rééducation périnéale intervient pour aider les muscles relâchés à se raffermir, et vous permet ainsi de reprendre le contrôle de votre plancher pelvien.

Douleurs pelviennes et génitales

La vulvodynie et la vestibulodynie désignent un inconfort chronique au niveau de la vulve et/ou du vagin lors d’un toucher ou d’une pression, comme une pénétration sexuelle ou l’insertion d’un tampon. D’origine nerveuse, ces troubles ne sont pas associés à une maladie de la peau. Ils peuvent être causés par une panoplie de facteurs, tels que, sans s’y limiter : une lubrification déficiente, des stress émotifs, une tension du plancher pelvien, ou des traumatismes infantiles (comme des abus ou la négligence).

La physiothérapie périnéale peut aider à soulager la douleur liée à la vulvodynie et la vestibulodynie. Une évaluation rigoureuse permet à la patiente de découvrir si sa condition nécessite une détente des muscles et des tissus pelviens, ou si elle a plutôt besoin de raffermir des muscles relâchés. Chaque personne est différente, c’est pourquoi il faut prendre le temps d’établir une formule sur mesure adaptée à chacune.

Problématiques en lien avec le rectum et l’anus

Lorsque le rectum dépasse l’anus, ou encore lorsqu’il se met à obstruer le vagin, on parle de prolapsus rectal. Des exercices ciblés, une thérapie manuelle et un reconditionnement des mécanismes de votre corps peuvent aider à stabiliser et à améliorer votre condition.

Étant donné la fragilité naturelle du périnée, ce dysfonctionnement survient plus souvent qu’on ne le croit. Nous détenons des solutions pour traiter l’incontinence engendrée par un affaiblissement du plancher pelvien. Venez nous rencontrer pour une évaluation complète de votre condition, et ensemble, nous trouverons la solution la mieux adaptée pour vous.

Prolapsus des organes pelviens

Plus fréquent chez les femmes, ce problème peut également apparaître chez les hommes. Lorsque les organes de la cavité pelvienne se retrouvent en dessous de leur position d’origine, on parle de prolapsus ou de descente des organes pelviens. Les patients peuvent être asymptomatiques, ou encore souffrir d’incontinence ou de difficulté à évacuer l’urine et les selles. On observe ce phénomène chez des personnes présentant un historique de constipation ou d’accouchement, et il peut aussi être causé par un affaiblissement des muscles pelviens ou abdominaux. La physiothérapie ne permet pas de traiter le prolapsus, mais elle permet de diminuer les symptômes et d’éviter que le problème ne s’aggrave. Le mieux est d’agir le plus tôt possible.

L’évaluation

On commence par l’évaluation de la posture, des mouvements du dos et des hanches, et ensuite, on évalue les abdominaux profonds et la respiration. Après, on procède à l’évaluation interne si le ou la patient(e) donne son consentement. On commence par évaluer le périnée externe, suivi de l’évaluation interne, soit à l’intérieur du vagin ou du rectum, selon le cas.

2. À QUI S’ADRESSE LA PHYSIOTHÉRAPIE PÉRINÉALE?

3. QUELS EXERCICES POUR LA RÉÉDUCATION PÉRINÉALE?

Généralement, les sports nécessitant une charge plus importante, ou les sports avec impacts tels que la course à pied, contribuent au renforcement des muscles du plancher pelvien. Par contre, ils ne sont pas recommandés à tout le monde; tout dépend de la condition de chacun.

Exercices de renforcement du plancher pelvien et conseils

On suggère généralement des exercices de renforcement et/ou de relâchement du plancher pelvien associés à la respiration. Par la suite, on peut intégrer ces exercices dans des mouvements d’entraînement physique ou du quotidien.

Contraction des muscles pour améliorer la rééducation du périnée

Pour contracter les muscles du plancher pelvien, on peut imaginer qu’on tente de rapprocher le coccyx du pubis et de tirer vers le nombril, sans serrer les fesses.

Une posture de yoga pour muscler le périnée

S’inspirant du yoga tantrique, le Mula Bandha consiste à harmoniser sa respiration avec des contractions des muscles du plancher pelvien. Axée sur la concentration et la méditation, cette posture favorise la confiance en soi, la stabilité, la clarté et elle éveille la conscience. Elle soutient notre passage à l’action et nous aide à affronter nos peurs. Utilisée en symbiose avec une thérapie de rééducation périnéale, cette activité peut se révéler très bénéfique. 

4. COMMENT SE DÉROULE UNE SÉANCE DE RÉÉDUCATION PÉRINÉALE?

  1. Avant le rendez-vous, vous aurez un questionnaire santé à remplir ainsi qu’un questionnaire orienté vers les différentes conditions traitées en rééducation périnéale et pelvienne.
  2. À l’évaluation, nous discutons tout d’abord des raisons de votre consultation et de votre santé. Nous procédons ensuite à une évaluation physique de votre condition (mobilité, force, etc.). 
  3. Ensuite, avec votre consentement, nous pouvons procéder à l’évaluation interne du plancher pelvien. Ces évaluations nous permettront d’évaluer votre santé globale et celle du plancher pelvien, afin de réaliser un plan de traitement approprié. 
  4. De plus, des conseils vous seront transmis afin de maintenir les résultats à long terme. Il est important que vous compreniez tout ce qui est fait, et que vous soyez à l’aise tout au long du traitement et des exercices. 
  5. Finalement, un programme d’exercices adaptés à votre situation et à votre contexte de vie vous sera remis.
  6. Un reçu en physiothérapie vous sera remis pour les assurances ou impôts.

On vous prend en charge.

On vous prend en charge.

5.AJUSTEMENT ET SUIVI DE PESSAIRES 

Le pessaire est une prothèse en silicone chirurgical qui s’insère à l’intérieur du vagin pour supporter un organe pelvien qui aurait perdu son support ligamentaire naturel. Le pessaire peut donc servir à soutenir la vessie, l’urètre, le rectum ou l’utérus. Il en existe plusieurs types et de plusieurs formes qui ont tous des utilités et fonctions différentes.  

Le traitement d’une descende d’organe comment d’abord par la rééducation périnéale et pelvienne avec les exercices adaptés à votre corps et vos symptômes. Le pessaire est un outil qui s’utilise généralement en parallèle aux traitements en physiothérapie périnéale. 

L’installation d’un pessaire demande plusieurs prérequis : 

    • Évaluation en physiothérapie périnéale pour s’assurer que vous être une candidate 
    • Séance d’essais de pessaires pour trouver celui qui vous convient 
    • Un rendez-vous médical avec examen gynécologique pour s’assurer que vous ne présentez aucune contre-indication et pour obtenir une prescription pour le pessaire 
    • Commande de votre pessaire et suivi pour vous enseigner comment l’installer, le retirer et l’entretenir 
    • Suivis médicaux pour vous assurer que votre corps tolère bien le pessaire 
    • Suivis individualisés en physiothérapie périnéale au besoin et selon votre condition 

RENDEZ-VOUS D'URGENCE

CLINIQUE DE LASALLE

RENDEZ-VOUS EN LIGNE

À LASALLE OU CHARLEMAGNE

RENDEZ-VOUS D'URGENCE

CLINIQUE DE CHARLEMAGNE

Nous contacter